Tags

, , , ,

I am constantly on a quest to get my toddler to eat more vegetables so about once a week I make a batch of healthy veggie muffins to give her as a snack in the afternoons. This recipe uses both carrots and zucchini and my daughter particularly likes them because I put raisins in them. I like them too so we have no problem going through and entire batch in a week. I even catch my husband sneaking one once in a while!

Not only are these muffins packed with veggies, but I use applesauce in place of oil so they’re definitely a healthier version than your typical carrot cake or zucchini bread recipe. Plus, as I mentioned, I add raisins for a little bit of extra flavor, texture and variety. I used regular raisins but you could add golden, or even dried cranberries if you wanted to.

Now just a fair warning. These muffins are NOT overly sweet. They are however, overly delicious AND healthy. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350. Spray the cups of 2 muffins pans with cooking spray and set aside.

2) In a small bowl combine the eggs and applesauce. In a medium bowl combine the zucchini and carrots. Add the egg mixture to the vegetable mixture.

3) In large bowl combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Fold in the egg and vegetable mixture until all of the dry ingredients have been incorporated. Stir in raisins.

4) Fill muffin tins 2/3 full and bake for 15-18 minutes at 350, or until edges start to brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

5) Cool completely on wire racks. Yields 18-20 muffins. Store in an airtight container (I use a plastic zipper bag) in refrigerator for up to 5 days.

