Tags

, , , , ,

Recently I’ve been craving Mexican food for some reason. I love how with Mexican food you can use the same few ingredients to make several different types of dishes. For example, tacos, burritos and enchiladas are basically meat, veggies and tortillas, just packaged differently to make a new dish. All very delicious ingredients if I do say so myself!

This is my Chicken and Veggie Enchilada recipe that always has my husband  going back for seconds, and he also asks if he can take leftovers to work for lunch the next day. Any time I make a dinner like that I always add the recipe to my arsenal for “next time.” It makes choosing what to make for dinner MUCH easier.

For this recipe I took a typical chicken enchilada recipe and added more veggies to it because I love dishes that are packed with veggies. Plus, I think they add a nice extra little crunch to the enchilada so they’re not so soft and mushy. One more “plus” for this dish – since it’s not loaded with cheese, sour cream, beans and/or rice it’s a nice healthy version. Check it out:

Ingredients:

  • 1 large white sweet onion
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 medium green zucchini squash
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 raw, cleaned chicken breasts
  • 10 medium sized “soft taco” flour tortillas
  • 1 jar prepared enchilada sauce

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350. Season chicken to your taste with salt and pepper, place on a baking sheet and bake for about 30 minutes at 350, or until internal thermometer reaches 180 degrees.

2) While chicken is cooking, prepare sauce. First, chop onion, pepper and squash into bite sized pieces. Next, preheat olive oil in a large sauce pan over medium high heat. Once oil is warm, add minced garlic and cook until slightly browned. Add veggies and cook for about 5 minutes, or until onion  is translucent.

IMG_4039

3) Next, add tomato sauce and tomatoes to the veggie mixture. Stir to combine ingredients. Bring to a boil and then cover and simmer on low heat for about 15 minute to combine flavors.

4) Once chicken is done, shred it with two forks and add it to the sauce pan. Stir to combine and ensure that all chicken has been coated in sauce.

IMG_4042

5) Prepare your baking dish. Spray a large casserole dish with cooking spray, then arrange 10 flour tortillas in the dish to make a neat row. I do this ahead of time so that the shells are easy to load and roll up, but also so that I can  ensure I get a set of similar sized enchiladas.

IMG_4044

6) Load one tortilla at a time with 4-5 large spoonfulls of your chicken and sauce mixture. Roll each tortilla up lengthwise to create a nice neat row of enchiladas.

IMG_4046

IMG_4049

7) Next, add your enchilada sauce to the top and cover with shredded cheese of your choice. I used mozzarella this time because that’s what I had on hand, but I’ve used Mexican blend before and that tastes great as well.

IMG_4053

8) Bake in  the oven at  350 for 30 minutes, or until cheese on top is melted and turned a golden brown. Serve with more enchilada sauce over the top. You could also serve with a dollop of sour cream plus beans and rice on the side  but we’re trying to be healthier lately so we just ate the enchiladas “as-is” and still felt full and satisfied. You, of course, can modify for your family’s tastes. 🙂 Enjoy!

IMG_4061

