Tags

, ,

My Grandma used to make dill flavored oyster crackers for us when we came to visit so they are a very fond memory for me, but they are also so incredibly delicious that I have to share the love! I haven’t made these crackers in a very long time because I never think to make them, but I had a bag of oyster crackers on hand because the weather is starting to turn colder and I love to eat them in my tomato soup.

Many people also call oyster crackers “soup crackers” but they are the same thing. They are called oyster crackers up in the New England states because it is very popular to serve these “soup” crackers with oyster soup. And thus, they are known as “oyster crackers” to Northerners.

I’m sharing my Garndma’s recipe because I think it’s the best, but there are a number of recipes floating around that use different ingredients and are still very good. As always, modifying a recipe to fit your family’s tastes and to use up ingredients you have on hand are always the best strategy in my opinion so please modify as you see fit!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag 9oz bag of oyster crackers
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 packet of powdered ranch dressing mix
  • 1 t dill weed
  • 1/2 t garlic powder

Directions:

1) Mix oil, ranch dressing mix, dill weed and garlic powder together in a pyrex 2 cup measure. This makes it easy to pour onto the crackers.

IMG_4063

2) Add entire bag of crackers to a mixing bowl. Pour oil mixture over the crackers and then stir gently to coat crackers evenly. I  use a bowl that has a matching air-tight cover so that I can store the crackers in the bowl. You could also put the crackers into a gallon sized plastic resealable bag to store,

IMG_4069

