Tags

, , , , ,

As the weather is getting colder I feel like the house feels warmer when it smells of slow cooked meals so I thought it was time to get out the slow cooker for the season! Now that I’m home all day I don’t NEED to resort to using  the slow cooker (or crock pot), but I’m definitely going to use it as much as I can  because there’s just something amazing about how meat just shreds apart after it has been slow cooked… it’s simply delicious!

I made this pot roast for my parents and in-laws when they were over one night  for dinner back we lived up in NY. So, aside from making the house smell amazing, making this pot roast was a good way to bring back the memories of the big family dinners we used to have when living close to our parents.

I love this recipe because the sauce uses two simple ingredients that I always have on  hand: dry onion soup mix and a can of cream of  mushroom soup. You really can’t get simpler than that, can you? Not only is the sauce incredibly simple to prepare, but it makes the most wonderful gravy for the pot roast when you are ready to serve.

When I prepare this, I usually add vegetables in with the sauce like sliced mushrooms (baby bella or white), baby carrots and pearl onions. These vegetables come out soft and infused with delicious meaty flavor. It’s really worth it to add vegetables  if you are not  planning on making a vegetable side dish. I did, however, make a vegetable side dish (Check out my amazing recipe for Cheesy Zucchini and Onion Bake! You will NOT be disappointed, I promise!) when I made this pot roast so left the extra vegetables out.

Ingredients:

  • 3 lb pot roast
  • 1 can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 packet of dry onion soup mix
  • 1 can of water
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Spray the bottom of your slow cooker with cooking spray. Add meat to slow cooker. Sprinkle with salt and pepper that suits your family’s taste. We like a lot of pepper, so I always add a ton!

2) Wisk together the soup, soup mix and water in a small bowl. Pour liquid mixture over the top of the pot roast. Cook in High for 3 hours or low for 5-6.

**If you are going to add vegetables, just put them right over top of the roast and sauce. About halfway through the cook time, you’ll want to stir the vegetables so that they all get cooked evenly.

Just a teaser…. doesn’t this look incredibly good? That’s my Cheesy Zucchini and Onion Bake. If you’re curious!

IMG_4203