Tags

, , ,

IMG_4195

On my personal mission to consume everything pumpkin that I possibly can  this Fall season, I pulled out my Mom’s Pumpkin Bread recipe. This recipe really reminds me of back home in NY – a chilly Halloween night, Thanksgiving around my Grandmother’s table and crisp leaves.

This recipe is very spicy and I LOVE it so incredibly much! If you don’t like your pumpkin recipes to be spicy, you can certainly take some of the spices out. The best thing about baking is that as  long as you get the core ingredients in at the right ratio, the spices are just extra! Add as much or as little as you/your family like. That’s why you will  notice in a lot of my recipes I say “salt and pepper to your taste.” Spices can very very subjective!

Here is my Mom’s recipe that has been  perfected over the years… I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! This recipe make 2 9″ loaves of bread.  You could also make mini loaves or muffins. The recipe is versatile.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 t cloves
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t nutmeg
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 16oz can pumpkin
  • 2/3 cup vegetable oil

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350. Spray two 9″x5″ bread pans with cooking spray. Set aside.

2) Combine all dry ingredients into a large bowl. In a medium bowl, beat the three eggs slightly then mix in the pumpkin and vegetable oil until combined. Add the wet ingredients to the dry. Mix well.

3) Split the batter evenly into the two bread pans. Bake at 350 for about 50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

