Tags

, , , ,

IMG_4407

This isn’t a very seasonal recipe, but I have leftover ham steak and my Mom was kind enough to share her “Ham Hawaiian” recipe with me 🙂 My toddler LOVES ham steak. She will eat baby carrot sized chunks all day long. While it’s not the healthiest thing for her to be eating, at least she’s eating meat, right?

I’ve modified my Mom’s Ham Hawaiian recipe a bit to come up with this Ham and Pineapple Curry recipe.  It’s sweet because of the pineapple, but I think it’s really good! My husband prefers more savory dishes so he wasn’t a big fan of this, but you can’t win them all, can you?

I’ve googled and googled and googled and can’t find anything out there in recipe land that resembles this recipe. My Mom says it’s a very old Betty Crocker Kabob recipe that she’s doctored up a bit. Hope you enjoy this original!

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds cooked ham steak, cut into small cubes
  • 1 can of pineapple chunks (reserve the juice to make pineapple sauce)
  • 1 sweet red pepper, cubed (I used orange)
  • 1 large onion, cubed
  • 1 small pack of white mushrooms, sliced (I didn’t have mushrooms, but this would be a great addition if you have them!)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 2 T curry powder
  • 1 t ground cumin
Directions:

1) Add ham, pineapple chunks, pepper, onion and mushrooms to a large casserole dish. Wisk together marinade in a small bowl: oil, lemon juice, curry and cumin. Pour marinade over ham and vegetable mixture and stir to coat all of the ham and vegetables. Cover casserole and marinate in refrigerator for at least an hour. Can marinate in refrigerator for up to 8 hours. The longer you marinate, the stronger the curry flavor.

2) Preheat oven to 425. Bake for 1 hour, or until boiling. Stir half way through baking time. When ready to serve, use a slotted spoon to serve over rice. I didn’t want the oil marinade to soak into our rice, but you could use that as a sauce if you wanted to.

IMG_4405

Pineapple Sauce: My Mom uses a sweet pineapple sauce when serving. Since my husband prefers savory dishes I didn’t make this, but you could if you like things sweeter. In small sauce pan add reserved pineapple juice and enough cold water to make 1 cup of liquid. Wisk in 2 T sugar and 1T of corn starch. Heat on medium stirring often until sauce thickens.  Layer rice, casserole, sauce.

 

