Tags

, , , , , ,

This is my new favorite side dish! While it serves 4, my husband and I ate the ENTIRE thing last night as a side with my Pumpkin Balsamic Chicken (uses Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter – yum!). It’s packed with vegetables so I don’t feel too guilty eating so much 🙂

Another perk is that this is very easy to make, which is something that I strive for in a recipe. I have a toddler running around me at all times so I can’t make anything that is too complicated or time intensive these days. It’s just not possible!

I’ve modified this recipe from Kraft’s Ratatouille Stuffing Bake recipe. I wanted to use ingredients that we like and also use things that I had on hand. We LOVE mushrooms and I had spinach in the refrigerator that I need to use up so decided  to spruce up this already great recipe a bit. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 10 baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, with liquid
  • 1 cup chopped baby spinach
  • 1 box chicken flavor stuffing mix
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350. Meanwhile, sautee the pepper, onion, mushrooms and garlic over medium high heat until the onions are translucent. Add tomatoes and baby spinach. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the spinach is wilted.

IMG_4419

2) Add the stuffing mix to vegetable mixture, stir to combine. Spoon the stuffing and vegetable mixture to a casserole dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Layer the shredded cheese on top.

IMG_4420

3) Bake for 30 minutes at 350. Then, try not to eat it ALL!

