Tags

, , , ,

IMG_4433

My husband and I had our best friends down to visit this past weekend and I made mini versions of my chicken pot pie with biscuits for dinner and wanted to serve something sweet on the side. Aren’t these pot pies cute? My husband wanted his in pie crust, so of course I obliged!

IMG_4509

Happily, I still have some NY Empire apples that my Mom brought down for us in September so I decided to make my crockpot applesauce. My friend Melissa from NY says that it tastes like apple pie!

If you don’t like your applesauce to be sweet you can reduce the sugar to just 1/4 cup, or omit it completely. Personally, I really like my applesauce to have brown sugar in it so if I was going to go light on the sugar I’d omit the white sugar.

Ingredients:

  • 10 apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 T cinnamon

Directions:

1) Put apples on the bottom of the crock pot, add water then sprinkle the sugars and cinnamon on top. Cook on low heat for 5-6 hours, stirring occasionally throughout the cook time.

It may look like 10 apples is too many, but don’t worry, the apples cook down considerably over time.

IMG_4424 IMG_4429

