Tags

, , , , , ,

Beef Stroganoff

I love Beef Stroganoff on a cold night. It’s just so satisfying. We love mushrooms and I try to incorporate them into as many recipes as possible, so this dish is especially good for our household because mushrooms are a star in this dish.

We aren’t huge beef eaters, as I’m sure you will notice if you take a look at the number of chicken recipes I’ve posted! Because we don’t eat a lot of beef, mainly because I’m not a huge fan, when I do make this dish I like to use very lean cuts of beef. I really don’t like to eat fatty pieces of meat. I try to buy pre-packaged kabob cuts and then chop them into smaller pieces, removing any fat that I may see.

I did a couple of things a bit differently with this recipe than I usually do, but as my husband always teases me, I never make the same recipe twice so this is NOT unusual! If he really likes a dish that I make, he will likely never get the same dish again. I jokingly (although there is some truth in this too) tell him to kiss it goodbye. I’m always tinkering around with ingredients to use what I have on hand, or use something that I’m craving, or think might be interesting. This is what makes cooking fun and exciting for me. It’s all  big science experiment for me. I’m  a nerd and that’s OK! It is, right?

Back to the things I did differently… First, I added green pepper into the veggie mix because I had one that I needed to use. I actually think it was a nice addition, so if you like peppers definitely give it a try. Also, I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream to thicken up the gravy. I have seen in many other Stroganoff recipes that you can substitute plain Greek yogurt for sour cream. The catch is that I didn’t have any plain Greek yogurt. Just vanilla bean… honestly, I noticed a change in flavor from the switch to yogurt, but didn’t even notice a change in flavor from the vanilla bean. If anything, I like this dish with vanilla Greek yogurt better than with sour cream! You can use either Greek yogurt or sour cream with a similar result though, so use whatever you’d like.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of lean beef, cut into cubes
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 large white onion, sliced
  • 1 medium green pepper, sliced
  • 1 medium carton of white button mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 carton of baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1/2 t black pepper
  • 1/3 cup of Greek yogurt (plain or vanilla)
  • 2/3 package of wide egg noodles

Directions:

1) Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat. Cook beef completely, turning pieces over to sear each side. When cooked, move beef to a bowl and cover with foil to keep warm. Pour off any fat remaining in pan.

2) Add onion, pepper, mushrooms and garlic to pan that beef was cooked in. Cook for about 10 minutes, or until onions are translucent. Stir frequently so the garlic doesn’t burn. Meanwhile, cook the egg noodles according to directions on package.

3) Mix together the soup, milk, paprika and pepper. Add creamy mixture to the cooked vegetables. Stir to combine well. Add beef and bring mixture to a boil. Turn heat to low, add yogurt, stirring to combine well. Cover and simmer for about 5 minutes to combine flavors.

4) Serve over egg noodles. Makes 3-4 servings.

